AMDI 2012 Conference

20121205 AMDI ConferenceCairns was the venue for the 2012 Australian Marine Debris Initiative Conference held during the first week of December, with volunteers, Indigenous Land and Sea Rangers, Government agencies and other partner organisations coming together to review marine debris activities that had been taking place around the country in 2012.

The conference was held over three days and not only gave partners an opportunity to present their marine debris work, but to also workshop issues they were coming up against in the removal and disposal of marine debris that had been collected - especially in remote areas, and ideas on how to reduce marine debris coming from both local, national and international sources.

With such a huge issue like marine debris, creative solutions and strong partnerships are vital in finding practical strategies that will stop the flow of debris into our oceans, so the conference was a great opportunity to bring all these ideas together.

We are looking forward to working with all our partners in 2013 and thank all our volunteers and partners for their efforts during the year - we are making a difference and our oceans are healthier due to your hard work!

Photo below - left to right: Conference participants at the 2012 Australian Marine Debris Initiative end of year conference.

Jimmy Richards - Djunbunji Rangers, Cindy-Lou Togo - Girringun Rangers, Chris Muriata - Girringun Rangers, Mick Hale and Junior Rangers - Yuku Baja Muliku Rangers, Heidi Taylor - Tangaroa Blue, Bruce Lansdown - DAFF, Riki Gunn - GhostNets Australia, Penny Ivey - Girringun Rangers, Stanley Budby - Mapoon Rangers, Renne Mouritz - Tangaroa Blue, Kay Critchell - James Cook University, Helen Penrose - James Cook University, Richard Taylor - Tangaroa Blue, Mark Hamann - James Cook University, Katie Grubb - Tangaroa Blue, Tim Creed - GImuy Rangers, Ken Kyle - Gimuy Rangers, Annalisse Sly - AMSA, Jen Goldberg - GhostNets Australia, Eduardo Gallo - Oceanwatch Australia, Patrick D - Gimuy Rangers, Karlina Seekee - GBRMPA and Wally Smith - Tangaroa Blue.

Absent from photo but thank you also goes to the following conference participants: Jocelyn De Jersey - Mapoon Rangers, Larissa Hale - Yuku Baja Muliku Rangers, Gavin Singleton - Yirrganydji Traditional Owners, Don Rostedt - DAFF, Gary Featonby - QPWS, Annetta Tantanis - Tangaroa Blue, Sioux Campbell - Tangaroa Blue, Seith Fourmile - Gimuy Rangers, Jenny Lynch - Gimuy Rangers and Robert Rutten - Ruttentech.

Thank you to Caring for Our Country for funding the Australian Marine Debris Initiative.

20121205 AMDI Conference1